Eccentric introvert

I have been called many things, some I dispute some I surrender too. I was once called a performing introvert, which I quite liked, but it’s not exact. I think a better explanation is that I am an eccentric, introvert. Let me break it down. An introvert can be someone who is shy, I don’t quite fit that profile, or they can be, a person predominantly concerned with their own thoughts and feelings rather than with external things. Yip. Which to extroverted people makes us seem awfully selfish, which we certainly can be at times.

Eccentric, I prefer the original Greek form, Greek ekkentros, from ek ‘out of’ + kentron ‘center.’ Middle English (as a noun denoting a circle or orbit not having the earth precisely at its center). That sounds about right! I drift off easily. I am happy to engage with people, but sort of on my own terms, and if they lose me, it’s not them, it’s me who has drifted off on some chain of thought, which requires me to take action and get going. Hard to explain unless you are like that, I am only getting to terms with the “why” of my behavior now, so I can better shape it to get along better with others.

Anyway, I am drifting, find yourself, before you lose yourself.

Leave a comment